Daily Assignments and Announcements

Fri. June 13

Wed. June 3

Tues. June 3

Mon. June 2

Fri. May 30

Thur. May 29

Wed. May 28

Thur. May 22

Wed. May 21

Tues. May 20

Mon. May 18

Fri. May 16

Wed. May 14

Tues. May 13

Mon. May 12

Fri. May 9

Wed. May 7

Fri. May 2

Thur. May 1

Tues. Apr. 29

Fri. Apr. 25

Thu. Apr. 24

Wed. Apr. 23

Tues. Apr. 22

Mon. Apr. 14/Tues. Apr. 15

Fri. Apr. 11

Thur. Apr. 10

Tues. Apr. 8

Mon. Apr. 7

Fri. Apr. 4

Wed. Apr. 2

Tues. Apr. 1

Mon. Mar. 31

Fri. Mar. 28

Thur. Mar. 27

Wed. Mar. 26

Tues. Mar. 25

Mon. Mar. 24

Thur. Mar. 20

Wed. Mar. 19

Tues. Mar. 18

Mon. Mar. 17

Fri. Mar. 14

Thur. Mar. 13

Wed. Mar. 12

Tues. Mar. 11

Mon. Mar. 10

Thur. Mar. 7

Wed. Mar. 5

Tues. Mar. 4

Mon. Mar. 3

Fri. Feb. 28

Thur. Feb. 27

Wed. Feb. 26

Tues. Feb. 25

Tues. Feb. 11

Mon. Feb. 10

Fri. Feb. 7

Thurs. Feb. 6

Tues. Feb. 4

Thurs. Jan. 30

MIDTERM CALC. COMMANDS

Fri. Jan. 17

Thur. Jan. 16

Wed. Jan. 15

Tues. Jan. 14

Mon. Jan. 13

Fri. Jan. 10

Thur. Jan. 9

Wed. Jan. 8

Tues. Jan 7

Mon. Jan. 6

Thurs. Jan 2

Wed. Dec. 18

Fri. Dec. 13

Thur. Dec. 12

Wed. Dec. 11

Mon. Dec. 9

Fri. Dec. 6

Thur. Dec. 5

Wed. Dec. 4

Tues. Dec. 3

Mon. Dec 2

Wed. Nov. 27th

Mon. Nov. 25th

Thur. Nov. 21st

Wed. Nov. 20th

Tues. Nov. 19th

Mon. Nov. 18th

Fri. Nov. 15th

Thur. Nov. 14th

Wed. Nov. 13th

Tues. Nov. 12th

Mon. Nov. 11th

Wed. Nov. 6th

Tues. Nov. 5th

Fri. Nov. 1st

Thur. Oct. 31st

Wed. Oct. 30th

Fri. Oct. 25th

Tues. Oct. 22nd

Mon. Oct. 21st

Fri. Oct. 18th

Thur. Oct. 17th

Wed. Oct. 16th

Tues. Oct. 15th

Fri. Oct. 11th

Wed. Oct. 9th

Tues. Oct. 8th

Mon. Oct. 7th

Fri. Oct 4th

Thurs. Oct. 3rd

Tues. Oct. 1st

Mon. Sept. 30th

Fri. Sept. 27th

Thurs. Sept. 26th

Wed. Sept. 25th

Tues. Sept. 24th

Mon. Sept. 23rd

Fri. Sept. 20th

Thur. Sept. 19th

Wed. Sept. 18th

Mon. Sept. 16th

Thur. Sept. 12th

Wed. Sept. 11th

Tues. Sept. 10th

Mon. Sept. 9th

Fri. Sept. 6th

Wed. Sept. 4th

  • None :)
  • Fair Division Quiz tomorrow
    • Sealed Bids (Kastner) and details... (See May 28 slides)
    • Method of Markers and details... (See May 30 slides)
  • Method of Markers Handout
  • Fair Division Quiz on Wednesday
  • Today's Lesson: More Fair Division: Last Diminisher and Method of Markers
last dim methodmarkers
  • "Fair Division" Handout
  • Homework: "Estate Division Problems" handout
  • Today's Lesson: Kastner Inheritance Powerpoint:
kastner intro
  • In-Class Rock Band Survey:
    • Winner for each of the 4 methods
    • Is there a Majority Criterion violation? If so, which method and why?
    • Is there a Condorcet Criterion violation? If so, which method and why?
    • There is a (somewhat) obvious IIA violation. Which method and why?
  • Finish Both Voting Handouts (from Monday and today)
  • Finish Voting Practice Handout
  • Below are slides from today's class about Fairness Criteria:
Fairness Criteria
  • Voting Practice Handout (all but last side)
  • Enjoy Prom :)

None :)

  • Quiz Tomorrow! Topics:
    • Conflict Resolution (Vertex Coloring)
    • Map Coloring / 4-Color Theorem / Convert to Planar Graphs
    • Critical Path Analysis
      • Create a graph from a list of tasks
      • Find the critical path through the graph
      • Schedule 2 processors using "Decreasing Time Algorithm"
      • Schedule 2 processors using "Critical Path Algorithm"
  • Answer Keys:
  • Finish "Critical Paths Practice" handout. Specifically, #2, 3 parts B and D.
  • "Critical Paths Practice" Handout. Complete #1 all parts and #2, 3 parts A and C only.
  • Critical Path Handout due Friday 5/9
  • Map Coloring Handout
  • 118/63, 64, 66, 68, 70 (handout from class today)
  • Quiz Tomorrow On:
  • Euler Circuits
  • Hamiltonian Circuits
  • TSP
  • TSP Handout from class (the same problems are in the text: 66/13, 17, 42)
  • None :)
  • 30/36, 39, 44, 46, 47, 50
  • Textbook: 28/27, 28, 29, 33, 34, 43, 48
  • None. Have a nice break :)
  • Quiz on Monday:
    • Multiplying matrices (by hand)
    • Writing a graph as a matrix / vise versa
    • Number of paths through a graph
    • Tie-breaking
    • Dijkstra's Algorithm
  • Solution to "Tennis Tiebreaker" problem here!
  • Complete this assignment on a separate sheet of paper.
  • Complete this handout on adjacency matrices
  • Complete this handout
  • None :)
  • Steiner Homework Handout (% Savings from each rectangle)
  • None :)
  • Quiz on Friday
  • 72/49a, 51, 53, 54, 61, 63
  • None :)
  • Stat "Final Exam" Tomorrow. Study if you want it to count !
  • In Discrete Text: 26/7,8,11,12,14
  • Complete both "Muddy City" problems
    • What is the cheapest set of roads to pave?
    • Is there a method to finding the answer to such a problem every time?
  • Bring your stat book if you haven't already!
  • Bring your STAT BOOK to class !!
  • TEST ON MONDAY
  • For Students who are absent on Friday 3/21:
  • HW 8
  • Handout
  • Test on Monday 3/24. I'll be absent on Friday 3/21. You'll be provided with review problems and solutions. Q+A Monday AM.
  • HW 7
  • Send PI results if you haven't already
  • Complete "Capture the Mean" Handout from class.
  • Fill out this form with your results
  • HW 6
  • HW 5: CHANGED TO 494/9.36 - 9.40 (HINT: #39, 40 require InvNorm on your calculator!)
  • Quiz on 9.1 and 9.2 Tomorrow
  • HW 5 due Wednesday
  • HW 4
  • Quiz on 9.1 and 9.2 on Tuesday.
  • All Classes: HW 2 due FRIDAY
  • 9-1 Handout from class
  • HW 1 (Chapter 9)
  • None :)
  • Test Tomorrow. Optional review material:
  • HW 3
  • Chapter 7 Test on Friday !
  • HW 2 (Ch 7)
  • Complete in-class handout: "Transformations of Random Variables"
  • Quiz on Thursday (Will be given on Friday if there is a snow day Thursday)
  • Means and Variances Worksheet
  • Quiz on Thursday: 7.1 and 7.2: Discrete Random Variables, Expected Value, Law of Large Numbers, Variance and Standard Deviation
  • HW 5
  • HW 4 (HW 2 was assigned by accident --- sorry)
  • Compute the EV for 4 different roulette bets (not a straight, must do "5 number")
  • Upload 2ND COLUMN of roulette data here
  • HW 2
  • HW 1 Due Monday (you should CREATE A TABLE for problems 7.2c, 7.6c, and 7.9c)

The Stat Quiz that Never Was

Normalcdf(min,max,mean,sd)

Linreg(explanatory list, response list)

Invnorm(percentile as a decimal)=zscore

Zoom 9 (make sure your y=screen is clear!)

Stat à Edit (spreadsheet…)

Window (Change class sizes)**

Randint(min, max, how many)

Stat Plot (scatter, histogram, box whisker, box whisker with outliers, normal prob. Plot)

1VariableStats (mean, sd, n, 5 number summary, etc)

**helpful but not mandatory

  • DUE TOMORROW: For either weather or stock data:
    • Scatterplot
    • LSRL
    • Table showing SST computation
    • Table showing SSE computation
    • r^2 value
  • Quiz TOMORROW on LSRLs and r^2
  • Due Friday for either weather or stock data:
    • Scatterplot
    • LSRL
    • Table showing SST computation
    • Table showing SSE computation
    • r^2 value
  • Quiz on Friday on LSRLs and r^2
  • Complete "Doesn't Everyone Go 81-81?" Handout
  • HW 7
  • Finish Scrabble Handout
  • HW 6
  • Finish "Golf Scores" Handout
  • Read/Take Notes on pages 137 - 142.
  • Extra Credit: Find examples of correlation =/=> Causation in the news!
  • HW 5 COLLECTED TOMORROW
  • HW 4 is DUE SOON
  • Quiz on 3.1 and 3.2 Wednesday
    • Scatterplots by hand/on calc.
    • Describe form, strength, direction
    • All things correlation (r)
  • HW 5 / Read Article "Post Hoc Rides Again" both DUE TOMORROW
  • HW 4 is due at some point this week (assigned as a handout in class last week)
  • Quiz on 3.1 and 3.2 Wednesday
    • Scatterplots by hand/on calc.
    • Describe form, strength, direction
    • All things correlation (r)
  • Happy Thanksgiving :)
  • Project Due Wednesday (hard copy, via email only if you're absent)
  • HW 2, 3 Due Monday 11/25
  • Chapter 3 HW # 1
  • None :)
  • Project Due next Wednesday
  • Chapter 2 Test Tomorrow:
  • Chapter 2 Test on Tuesday, 11/19
    • Topics: Density Curves, Normal Distribution/Empirical Rule, Z-Scores, Tests for Normality
    • Review: HW # 7
    • Review Solutions Here!
  • "Is it normal"? Project Due 11/27
  • Handout From Class
    • Perform all three tests on the front and back.
    • Clearly draw diagrams and give explanations.
  • None
  • Long Term Plans:
    • HW 5 Due Friday
    • Periods 3,4 in computer lab on Friday
    • Period 7 using Laptops on Friday
    • Chapter 2 Test next Tuesday, 11/19
  • HW 6 -- Solutions are here! Check your work!
  • Quiz Tomorrow (HW 6 is practice)
  • Make sure HW 4 is COMPLETELY complete!
  • Handout given at end of class. Refers to SAT data given in class last week. This data can be found here if you lost it.
  • Do HW 4 AGAIN, this time using just Table A
  • You need to turn in TWO VERIONS of HW 4 as part of your final HW grade in Q1, due on Monday.
  • HW 4
  • Complete "Discovering Z-Scores" Handout
  • Quiz on Monday:
    • Density Curves
    • Normal Distributions
    • Empirical Rule
  • HW 3 (If not completed in class)
  • Quiz on Monday on Density Curves and Normal Distributions
  • HW 2
  • HW 1 (Chapter 2 Assignment Sheet in Class Documents)
  • Chapter 1 Test Tomorrow
  • Solutions to Review Assignment HW 8
  • HW 7
  • Chapter 1 Test on Wednesday.
  • HW 6
  • HW 6 Due Monday
  • Period 3,4 in computer lab tomorrow
  • Period 7 using laptop carts -- bring your own if you'd like!
  • In Class Graphing Handout (both sides, on graph paper) due tomorrow
  • HW 5 due tomorrow
  • Final Project Due Tomorrow
  • See this document for details on what's required
  • Final Project Due on 10/16
  • See this document for details on what's required
  • HW 4 due Friday.
  • Quiz on 1.1-1.2 Friday
  • Final Project Due on 10/16 - Revised proposal, data, discussion
      • See Excel Files under "Class Documents" Called "All Students" and "Teaching Staff" as needed to get an SRS.
  • HW 3
  • Final Project Due on 10/16 - Revised proposal, data, discussion
    • See Excel Files under "Class Documents" Called "All Students" and "Teaching Staff" as needed to get an SRS.
  • Final Project Due on 10/16 - Revised proposal, data, discussion
    • See Excel Files under "Class Documents" Called "All Students" and "Teaching Staff" as needed to get an SRS.
  • Complete Handout from class
  • Read p.12-15 "Describing Histograms". Add to your notes.
  • Chapter 1 HW 2
  • Final Project Due on 10/16 - Revised proposal, data, discussion
    • See Excel Files under "Class Documents" Called "All Students" and "Teaching Staff" as needed to get an SRS.
  • Test tomorrow: Changed HW 9 for Review:
  • 300/5.66, 68, 69, 71, 73, 75, 80, 81, 82
  • Simulate Numbers 57 and 65 (from Homework 8) on Excel/GoogleDocs. 20 Trials for each. Print out copy to turn in (no emails).
  • For help with #65, see my simulation of number 63 here.
  • Chapter 5 Test on Wednesday!
    • HW 9 for Practice
    • Flash Cards for Memorization
    • Re-do homework assignments and quizzes
  • Proposal Due Monday
  • Complete HW 8, again!
  • Project proposal due Monday
  • Chapter 5 Test on Tuesday
  • Period 7 Excel Sim
  • Period 4 Excel Sim
  • Period 3 Excel Sim
  • Complete HW 8
  • If you have a laptop, bring it tomorrow! If not, I'll have some to give out.
  • Project Proposal Due Monday
  • Chapter 5 Test on Tuesday
  • HW 8 [only through #57]
  • Generate some ideas for your First Project (the links below might help)
  • Link 1
  • Link 2
  • None. Have a great weekend :)
  • HW 7
  • Quiz Tomorrow on 5.2: Experimental Design
  • Complete HW 5 and 6 for tomorrow. Look up any necessary terms in the text. Read the problems carefully!!
  • HW 5 (READING ONLY. Don't do any problems tonight!!)
  • HW 3
  • Quiz Tomorrow on Stat Intro, Sources of Bias, and Random Sampling
  • Upload In Class Random Rectangle Results Here
  • HW # 2 (The second one!)
  • Quiz on Friday
  • IF YOU BORROWED A CALCUATOR: Download calculator permission form. Bring signed tomorrow!
  • HW # 2 (The first one!)
  • Read pages 245 - 248. Add to your notes
  • HW # 1 on Chapter 5 Assignment Sheet
  • Read article "How to Lie" under Class Documents. Take some notes and "ask some questions".
  • Spin pennies and upload data at the form below:
  • https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1HO9a-_DA_OfwcdtIccANe5t4yezjOXUmVSzJSCU6tX0/viewform